No one can predict exactly how much you would have to pay if you were to cause an accident. How high should my liability coverage limits be?
As you shop online for the best auto insurance deals you may begin to ask yourself what exactly is required by law when it comes to auto insurance. Fortunately this article outlines the auto liability insurance state minimums that you are required to have in order to legally drive in the United States. No matter what state you drive in all of them have financial responsibility laws and require motorists to purchase minimum amounts of auto liability insurance except for Tennessee, Wisconsin and New Hampshire.
Many websites and advocates of insurance (to include myself) recommend having a minimum of $100,000 for bodily injury protection per person and at least $300,000 for property damage costs and physical injury costs. The main reason for this is due to the increased amount of money needed to rectify an accident is usually more then what the states declare as the minimum amount of insurance coverage needed.
I have compiled the following information from the American Insurance Association, the Property Casualty Insurers Association, and the Insurance Information Institute. It shows the auto liability insurance state minimums as required by each state. In order to understand the numbers you must know what the mean. The first two numbers are for bodily injury liability and the third number represents the minimum amount of property damage liability.
As an example my home state of Missouri shows the following – Missouri 25/50/10. This means Missouri requires as a minimum coverage up to $50,000 for all persons injured in an accident, subject to a limit of $25,000 for one individual, and $10,000 coverage for property damage.
Alabama 20/40/10 Alaska 50/100/25 Arizona 15/30/10 Arkansas 25/50/25 California 15/30/5 Colorado 25/50/15 Connecticut 20/40/10 Delaware 15/30/5 D.C. 25/50/10 Florida 10/20/10 Georgia 25/50/25 Hawaii 20/40/10 Idaho 25/50/15 Illinois 20/40/15 Indiana 25/50/10 Iowa 20/40/15 Kansas 25/50/10 Kentucky 25/50/10 Louisiana 10/20/10 Maine 50/100/25 Maryland 20/40/15 Massachusetts 20/40/5 Michigan 20/40/10 Minnesota 30/60/10 Mississippi 10/20/05 Missouri 25/50/10 Montana 25/50/10 Nebraska 25/50/25 Nevada 15/30/10 New Hampshire 25/50/25 New Jersey 15/30/5 New Mexico 25/50/10 New York 25/50/10 North Carolina 30/60/25 North Dakota 25/50/25 Ohio 12.5/25/7.5 Oklahoma 10/20/10 Oregon 25/50/10 Pennsylvania 15/30/5 Rhode Island 25/50/25 South Carolina 15/30/10 South Dakota 25/50/25 Tennessee 25/50/10 Texas 20/40/15 Utah 25/50/15 Vermont 25/50/10 Virginia 25/50/20 Washington 25/50/10 West Virginia 20/40/10 Wisconsin 25/50/10 Wyoming 25/50/20
Remember these figures only represent auto insurance liability state minimums. Many experts agree that more insurance is needed in order to fully protect yourself in the event you’re involved in an automobile accident.
Ask yourself how you would pay for any damages exceeding your coverage limits. The higher your liability coverage limits are, the more likely your policy will be able to pay all of the damages.
Timothy Gorman is a successful webmaster and publisher of Best-Free-Insurance-Quotes.com. He provides more insurance information and offers discount home, life and auto insurance that you can research in your pajamas on his websiteOther websites operated by TimCellular-Phone-Solutions.com – Free information and resources regarding cell phones and cell phone plans. Military-Loans-Online.com – Which provides free money saving loan quotes on all of your loan needs to include home equity loan information.
For more information please visit http://www.best-free-insurance-quotes.com/auto-insurance.html
Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=Tim_Gorman